Taiwanese beef stew (紅燒牛肉)

I’ve been craving meat lately but haven’t really had time to cook anything properly.  By the time I get home from work or German class after work, it’s super late and I’m just wolfing down whatever I can get my hands on from the fridge and cupboard.

Taiwanese beef stew (紅燒牛肉)

Taiwanese beef stew (紅燒牛肉)

So this is where my slow cooker comes in!  I recall my mother telling me I could use the Taiwanese spice packets she gave me to stew some meat, so I decided to throw in some beef chunks into the slow cooker this morning before work, add a spice packet, top with some soy sauce, rice wine, and water…  and then let magic happen while I was slaving away at the office.  😉  

I came home to the lovely fragrance of stewed meat that was immediately ready to pop into my mouth, chew, and swallow the beefy goodness.  Mmm…

A few simple ingredients went into the slow cooker

A few simple ingredients went into the slow cooker

Easy-peasy to prepare (because I didn’t measure anything) and with a spicy kick (as I had also added some Siracha into the pot), this was a wonderful dish made from scratch with pretty much nil effort.  I don’t know why I never thought of doing this before.

I used to always use the spice packets to make beef noodle soup with tofu and eggs and all the trimmings, but I never actually just made the stewed meat by itself.  Just doing the meat really cut down on prep time, and then I could eat it with whatever sides I wanted to.

All the ingredients dumped into the slow cooker and ready to go!

All the ingredients dumped into the slow cooker and ready to go!

I was a greedy pig and didn’t have much leftovers, but I did save the spicy juices to top over rice and/or noodles.  I must do this again soon.  🙂

Taiwanese beef stew (紅燒牛肉)

Ingredients:

  • 500 g beef  (I bought pre-cut chunks from the supermarket)
  • 1 Taiwanese spice packet (This one contained anise, cumin, clove, cinnamon, spicy seasoning)
  • soy sauce
  • rice wine
  • Siracha
  • Hoisin sauce
  • water

Directions:

  1. Put the raw meat into the slow cooker.  (Mine went in frozen straight out of the freezer.)
  2. Add the spice packet.
  3. Dump in some soy sauce and rice wine.
  4. I added a squirt of Siracha and Hoisin sauce.
  5. Add some water to the slow cooker.  (Mine didn’t completely cover the meat, but I suppose you could if you wanted more juice.)
  6. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  (I let mine cook for 11 hours while I was at work, and it was fine.)
Leave a Reply

