Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)

Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)

Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)

It’s a lazy Sunday evening.  After finishing two loads of laundry and my weekly Skype session with my mother, what’s a girl to do next?  I suppose I could have cleaned my apartment…  jumped on my exercise bike to get some exercise…  or done my German homework.  >.<

But instead of any of these things…  I decided to make some strawberry muffins.  😉  

I got the inspiration because I had some frozen strawberries in the freezer that I had to use up, and Food.com had a lovely recipe online that I could adapt using whatever ingredients I hand on hand at home.

Fresh, hot, with a delectable crunchy top and a tender, juicy center, these were a cinch to whip together in a couple of minutes.  And I even cooked up my dinner of bacon, Mexican veggies, and tofu with vegetarian meat fluff and cleaned up all my prep utensils while they were baking in the oven.

I’ve already devoured two of these sweet puppies and I really need to limit myself because my belly is bursting now.  I guess after a lazy weekend, I better hit the gym hard-core to do some cardio tomorrow.  But they were totally worth it for a sweet treat to end a lovely weekend.  Yum.  🙂

Berry-Smash Muffins (Strawberry Muffins)

Total Time:  23 mins
Prep Time:  5 mins
Cook Time:  18 mins

 Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cups (395 ml) fresh strawberries  <–  I had about a cup of frozen strawberries that I roughly chopped up with a knife
  • 2/3 cup sugar (159) ml sugar  <–  I used raw sugar and added a package of vanilla sugar
  • 1/3 cup (0.8 dL) vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 cups (188 g) all-purpose flour <–  I added 1.5 teaspoons of baking powder to plain flour in lieu of all-purpose
  • ½ teaspoon (2.5 ml) baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon (2.5 ml) salt
  • ½ teaspoon (2.5 ml) cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 425 F (218 C).
  2. Put a paper baking cup in each of 12 regular-size muffin cups, or grease just the bottoms of 12 muffin cups.
  3. Slightly smash strawberries in large bowl, using fork.
  4. Stir in sugar, oil and eggs until mixed.
  5. Stir in other ingredients just until moistened.
  6. Spoon batter into muffin cups.
  7. Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until light golden brown or toothpick poked in center comes out clean.
  8. Cool 5 minutes.
  9. Loosen sides of muffins from pan if needed, and take them out of the pan.
  10. Makes 12 muffins.
  11. Tip: If you do not have fresh strawberries, you can use frozen strawberries that you have thawed and drained.  (I didn’t bother draining my strawberries, and the muffins came out just fine.)
Leave a Reply

