Four Ingredient Nutella Mug Cake

Yummy, gooey, fluffy Nutella cake (after I consumed about half the mug already)

Yummy, gooey, fluffy Nutella cake (after I consumed about half the mug already)

After making ratatouille and chicken noodle soup today, I was craving something sweet and decided to make another microwave mug cake.  After all, the last one was a cinch and quite yummy, so I decided to search for a Nutella version this time.  I found a recipe on Kirbie’s Cravings that only uses four ingredients, which looked simple enough.  She had a good point in saying that Nutella already has sugar and oil, so why add any additional amounts to the cake?

Well, I tried following the recipe to a T…  and it exploded in the microwave!  :O  

The cake looked horrible right after one minute in the microwave.  But it tasted fine after another 30 seconds.  :)

The cake looked horrible right after one minute in the microwave. But it tasted fine after another 30 seconds. 🙂

I dunno what happened.  Was the Nutella too gooey and dense?  In any event, the filling spilled over and out of the mug, and it still looked a bit gooey after 1 minutes, so I nuked it for another 30 seconds.

The finished “cake” still looked gooey, but I didn’t want to cook it any further.  And despite the instructions that said “Let cake cool in mug completely before eating”, I couldn’t help myself and dug in while the cake was still hot.  😛

It looked okay.  Was nice and chocolatey and gooey…  very much so like a fudge brownie.  A bit too sweet, but perhaps that was due to the overwhelming presence of Nutella.  But I wanted something sweet, so I guess it hit the spot.  Perfect to wash down with a glass of ice-cold milk.  Yum.

Four Ingredient Nutella Mug Cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp flour
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ cup (4 tbsp) Nutella
  • 3 tbsp fat free milk  <– I used low-fat milk

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients into an oversized mug.  Mix with a small whisk until batter is smooth.
  2. Cook in microwave for about 1 minute.  Sharp knife inserted should come out clean and top of cake should look done rather than gooey.  If cake is not cooked in one minute, add an additional 20 seconds.  (I nuked mine an additional 30 seconds.)
  3. Let cake cool in mug completely before eating.  (I didn’t follow this.  But just be careful not to burn your mouth!)
Leave a Reply

