Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup for Two

Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

I’ve been sick all weekend, so that means holing up indoors and stuffing my face with food.  I think the only productive thing I did all weekend was two loads of laundry today.  My YouTube music of choice today is The Rolling Stones.  It’s been interesting, because I never thought I liked rock, rhythm, and blues…  and now their music is kind of growing on me.  It must be my old age.  Or perhaps the fever is getting to my head.  😛

Actually, I don’t think I have a fever (not that I actually checked), because you know the old saying, Feed a cold, starve a fever?  Well, I’ve fed myself nonstop all week…  so I must have a cold, not a fever.  😉  In fact, my belly is so full now, it’s actually hurting.  But that’s another blog post.  (Stay tuned for dessert right after this.  ;))  

Ingredients (Not shown:  garlic cloves)

Ingredients (Not shown: garlic cloves)

Anyway, since I’m sick, I guess the most logical dish to make is chicken noodle soup, eh?  And because I live alone, this recipe I found on 101 Cooking for Two was perfect, so I wouldn’t have to half the recipe like I usually do.  Even so, this makes four servings, so I end up with one to eat today and enough leftovers for three more meals.  It gets kind of boring to eat the same thing for a week, but hey–what’s a single girl to do?

Prepped veggies.  I'm getting good at chopping, eh?  ;)

Prepped veggies. I’m getting good at chopping, eh? 😉

I took this opportunity to use up whatever I had on hand at home–carrots, Chinese noodles, brown mushrooms, ginger, garlic, chicken bouillon, chicken breasts–so my version isn’t entirely true to the recipe on the web site, but I think it came out okay.  I had to go buy two stalks of celery and bay leaf to make this dish though.  In the process, I learned the German word for bay leaf (Lorbeerblatt), so that was cool.

All the stuff in the pot and ready to start cooking

All the stuff in the pot and ready to start cooking

I think “proper” chicken noodle soup uses egg noodles, but I didn’t have any on hand and didn’t feel like buying more pasta, so I was left with the option of either using spaghetti or Chinese noodles.  I went with the latter, and it turned a bit mushy in the pot after one hour of cooking, but it was still edible.  I wonder if egg noodles would have held up a bit better?

The original instructions warned about not having enough liquid for soup, and true enough, even though I topped off with a bit more liquid, I think it could have used even more.  There was just enough soup to cover all the ingredients, but not much more.  I think if I made this again, then I would add a lot more broth.

Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup for Two

After 3 hours of slow cooking on low

After 3 hours of slow cooking on low

Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 4 hour
Total time: 4 hour 10 mins
Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 skinless boneless chicken breasts trimmed and cut into about ½ inch cubes
  • 32 oz (946 ml, 907 g) chicken broth
  • 2 carrots  <–  I used 3 carrots
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 medium onion  <–  I only had half an onion
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ t pepper
  • 1 bay leaf <–  I used 2 leaves
  • 1 ½ cup (57 g) dry noodles
  • I also added a knob of ginger and some garlic cloves, sliced up

Directions:

  1. This is a 4 serving recipe. You can cut in half easily but really you want a few left overs don’t you…
  2. Peel and cut two carrots into medallions, a medium onion chopped and slice two stalks of celery.  (I also added my extra carrot, ginger, and garlic here.)
  3. Trim and cut 2 skinless boneless chicken breast into cubes.
  4. Add the chicken and veggies to a small slow cooker (3 ½ qt.).  Add ½ tsp of salt and pepper, 32 oz of chicken broth or stock, and one bay leaf.  Add 1 – 14 oz can more broth if you want a lot of liquid in your soup.  Most of you will want this extra broth.
  5. Cook on low for 4 hours.  After the first 3 hours, add 1 ½ cups of dry noodles and let cook the final hour.  If you like a lot of noodles add another ½ cup of noodles BUT do not do this without adding the additional broth from previous instruction.
After mushrooms and noodles were in for the last hours of cooking

After mushrooms and noodles were in for the last hours of cooking

One thought on “Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup for Two

  1. Pingback: Four Ingredient Nutella Mug Cake | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

