Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast

It’s cold in Switzerland now…  cold enough for me to switch back to Celsius on my smartphone.  >.<  I tried to convert to Celsius when I first moved here, but anything over 2 °C didn’t mean anything to me–I always had to convert back to Fahrenheit to figure out how to dress for the day–and then finally one day I just followed my American friend M-‘s advice and switched back to the Fahrenheit setting on my phone.

Since then, I know that if it’s 70 °F, then it’s nice and warm…  if it’s 60 °F, then I bring a light jacket with me…  if it’s 40 °F, the I wear a thicker jacket (and maybe a scarf)…  and if it dips below 35 °F, then it’s time to switch over to the Celsius setting and pull out my down coat.  😉  

Ingredients

Ingredients

So now I’m on Celsius setting, and waiting to see if the plants on my balcony are going to freeze to death.  I can’t be bothered to bring them inside yet.  They still look okay for now though.

My throat’s kind of tickly, too…  so I hope I’m not getting sick.  😦  But…  in this weather, all I want to do is huddle inside and eat!  Time to build the winter fat layer for insulation.  😀  So today’s indoor project was to dust off ye olde slow cooker and make…  Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast!

The roast generously seasoned with freshly ground sea salt and cracked pepper

The roast generously seasoned with freshly ground sea salt and cracked pepper

This inspiration came from grocery shopping yesterday at Coop Sihlcity.  Beef shoulder roast was on sale for 40% off, so I figured–what the heck–let me buy the smallest hunk of meat I could find and see if I could make a pot roast for the first time.  I chose a lovely 0.724 gram (1.5 lb) marbled piece, which only cost CHF 13.40 instead of the normal price of CHF 22.40.  What a steal (for Switzerland).

Then I went home and researched online to look for recipes…  which pretty much consisted of searching for slow cooker recipes on Pinterest and picking the one with the most beautiful-looking photo.  😉

All the ingredients in the slow cooker, except for the shrooms

All the ingredients in the slow cooker, except for the shrooms

I found a nice one on the Paleo Cupboard web site that looked doable.  But then I realized that I was missing the other ingredients, so I had to go back to the grocery store to pick up carrots, onion, and garlic.  While I was at it, I also bought new salt and pepper mills, because the one I bought from Target in the U.S. turned out NOT to be refillable.  😦  So I got a nice set from Coop City Sihlcity that cost CHF 24.95, but I paid for most of it using my Supercard points, so it only ended up costing CHF 0.65!  🙂

Add the mushrooms about 45 minutes before serving

Add the mushrooms about 45 minutes before serving

So…  onto the recipe!  Since I had a small roast (only 1.5 lbs instead of the 2-3 lbs that the original recipe called for), I just halved the recipe and went to work.

The meat had some pink goo when I took it out of the packaging, so I rinsed it with cold water and patted dry with a paper towel.  (Are you supposed to wash meat before using, anyway??)  And then I didn’t know what to do with all the extra onion, so I put in 1/2 of the onion instead of only 1/4.

Done cooking after about 6 hours

Done cooking after about 6 hours

End result was okay.  I had expected the meat to be fall-off-the-bone tender…  but actually there was no bone in this meat, and I think a roast is supposed to be more firm, anyway.  The meat wasn’t too tough though.  I would say it was nice and juicy, with a nice consistency, and I could ladle the extra sauce over the meat for extra juiciness.  So this was my din din tonight, and I have enough leftovers for three lunches this week.  🙂

Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Prep time:  15 minutes
Cook time:  6-8 hours
Servings:  4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2.4 dL) chicken or beef stock  (I used 1.2 dL)
  • 2-3 lb. (907 – 1361 grams) beef roast (chuck or shoulder works best)  (I used 724 g or 1.5 lb)
  • Sea salt
  • Ground black pepper
  • 5 medium carrots, peeled and chopped in half  (I used 3 carrots)
  • 1/2 medium onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped  (I used 2 cloves)
  • 8 oz. (227 grams) mushrooms, washed and dried  (I used 113 g shrooms)

Equipment:

  • Slow cooker
  • Cutting board
  • Kitchen knife
  • Measuring spoons
  • Measuring cups
  • Garlic press

Directions:

  1. Plug in the slow cooker and turn it to low.  Pour in the stock.  Season the roast generously with sea salt and ground black pepper and then add to the slow cooker.
  2. Place the carrots around the edge of the roast and place the sliced onions and garlic cloves on top of the roast.  Allow the roast to cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Add the mushrooms to the slow cooker about 45 minutes before you want to eat.
  3. Remove the roast and vegetables from the slow cooker and place on a platter.  Pour some of the remaining cooking liquid over the meat and serve.
One thought on “Paleo Slow Cooker Pot Roast

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cake | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

