Mushroom Risotto

Mushroom Risotto

Mushroom Risotto

I am a very lucky girl.  Last Wednesday, my friend A- came over to cook me dinner…  from scratch.  :O  As a person who only pretends to cook and doesn’t really know what the hell I’m doing in the kitchen most of the time, I was utterly amazed and appreciative of this thoughtful gesture.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t aware of this until last Tuesday night after my trial German lesson ended at 9 pm.  I had texted A- to figure out the plan for dinner the next day (thinking we would be going elsewhere)…  but then  A- kindly informed me that he would go shopping for whatever he needed to cook and could ring my doorbell…  if I would be at home and tell him my street number…  and then let him in.  

Oops.  I wasn’t expecting that one.  No one, I repeat, NO ONE ever comes to my place.  And I wasn’t ready to have company over!!  :O

So thus began a mad scramble late on Tuesday night to tidy up my apartment.  Thank goodness I had already dusted, vacuumed, and mopped the previous Sunday afternoon…  so I wasn’t starting from ground zero.

But still…  I had a mountain of clothes lying around that needed ironing, papers everywhere, trash cans overflowing, and… the hair!!  The hair!!!  I shed like a molting dog, so I had to get down on all fours and sweep all my fallen hairs in the bathroom into my dustpan.  😦

Of course, I did all this after frantically consulting with my girlfriends about why A- would invite himself over without informing me in advance, blah blah blah, and I wanted to be cool about it, blah blah blah, but it was freaking me out, blah blah blah, etc.  You know, normal girl talk.  😉

So in between trying to tidy up my place, the text messages were flying back and forth on WhatsApp.  I didn’t finish straightening everything out and hiding all my stuff in the closet until about midnight.  😦

So then Wednesday came and went, and the dinner was pretty good.  A- came over with a giant duffel bag and pulled out…  a bag of flour…  a carton of eggs…  a carton of milk…  a container of butter…  a package of chives…  a package of chicken breasts…  a can of corn…  a red bell pepper…  a bag of pine nuts…  a hunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese…  a container of tomato paste with herbs…  a container of cream cheese with herbs…  a package of smoked salmon…  a package of brown mushrooms…  some lemons…  onions…  and…  I think that was it.  OMG.  Yep, that was a TON of stuff.  Oh, I forgot there was a bottle of white wine, too.  😉  Wowzers.  This dude sure came prepared.

Filling in wrap #1

Filling in wrap #1

So dinner was two kinds of wraps made from savory crêpes that he whipped up in a bowl without any measurements.  I just stared in awe at the master in action, because all my attempts at cooking usually involve copious amounts of pouring over multiple recipes, and then checking and cross-checking to make sure that I got the measurements right.  😛

Anyway, the first wrap contained the herbed cream cheese, smoked salmon with a drizzle of fresh-squeezed lemon juice over it, fresh chopped chives, and generous slices of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, all rolled up into a decadently rich and delicious appetizer.

Wrap #2 all rolled up!

Wrap #2 all rolled up!

The next course was another savory crêpe, but this time filled with a mixture of sautéed chicken, onions, bell pepper, corn, herbed tomato paste, and mushrooms, rolled and topped with slices of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, pine nuts, and more herbed tomato paste.  Yummers and very filling.

So after dinner, there were still lots of ingredients left over, which I stuck in the fridge until inspiration hit me today:  Aha, I could make mushroom risotto with all the ingredients I had on hand!  I had a bag of risotto rice that I needed to use up and a jar of mushrooms and bouillon cubes in the pantry.  And then I could use the leftover butter, onion, chives, cheese, and white wine.  I don’t usually drink alcohol by myself, so I try to use it in cooking…  and risotto would be perfect!  🙂

So here goes my own little masterpiece…  I must say that it turned out pretty well, and I have enough leftovers for a couple more meals.  😉

Mushroom Risotto
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 400 g risotto rice
  • 1.25 dL white wine
  • 1 L water/bouillon  (I used beef bouillon)
  • mushrooms  (I used a 290 g drained jar of mixed mushrooms)
  • onion
  • butter
  • grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • fresh chopped chives
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Make the beef bouillon and set aside.
  2. Sauté the mushrooms in a pot with some butter over medium-high heat.  Remove and set aside.
  3. Chop the onion and sauté in the pot with some butter for about one minute.
  4. Add the dry rice and sauté, coating with the butter.  Deglaze with the white wine.
  5. Add the bouillon gradually, stirring until the liquid is gone.  It will take about 15-20 minutes for the liquid to be absorbed and the rice to be al dente.
  6. Remove from heat, stir in the mushrooms, some more butter, the chives, grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, salt and pepper to taste.
Ingredients

Ingredients

Chopped chives and onions.  My knife skills aren't that great.  :/

Chopped chives and onions. My knife skills aren’t that great. :/

Looks like a lot of liquid, but it'll reduce down

Looks like a lot of liquid, but it’ll reduce down

Finished dish, yummers!  :)

Finished dish, yummers! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mushroom Risotto

    • Thanks! It was delicious, and even better the next day! The leftovers lasted in the fridge for a few days and still tasted wonderful after reheating. I guess all the flavors mingled together and enriched the taste…

Leave a Reply

