A new Schnügel has been discovered!

OLINGUITO UNVEILED: A new mammal was revealed as the first discovered animal species of its kind in 35 years. The olinguito weighs 2 lbs. and looks like “a cross between a teddy bear and a house cat.”

NBC LA, August 23, 2013

A new Schnügel has been discovered!  😀  Well…  I’m a little behind in my blog posts, so technically, it was discovered back in August, but I didn’t get a chance to blog about it until now.  😛

I ♥ Schnügels.  It’s my favorite Swiss word.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, let me backtrack a bit and give you a brief history on my introduction to the origin of this word. 

My friend E- first told me about it a few years back, and ever since then, I’ve been addicted.  Blick am Abend (which literally translates to “View at night”) is a free Swiss daily newspaper that is distributed throughout all the train and tram stations here every weekday evening.  On the 3rd to last page from the back, there is always a photo of “der Schnügel des Tages” (the Pet of the Day).

People send photos of their cute pets with a short comment, and looking at this photo has become the highlight of my day.  🙂  Generally, it is a photo of a kitty or doggie or hamster, so I figure the word Schnügel must mean something small, cute, and furry.  However, occasionally I see a bird or snake or lizard or something else as the Schnügel.  I think recently, there was even a goldfish.  But my favorites are always the cute, fluffy ones.

Once, I came upon a website that showed a Kägi-fretli chocolate bar as the Schnügel of the Day, but I’m not sure if it was a joke or not, as I can’t read German.  😦

Kägi-fretli chocolate bar as Der Schnügel des Tages! :O

But usually Schnügels are cutie animals.  So it was very exciting for me to read that scientists recently discovered a new mammal.  With big eyes and soft orange-brown fur, the olinguito definitely fits the definition of a Schnügel.  I mean, look at this guy…  it almost appears as if he’s smiling at us!

Olinguito

Hip hip hooray!  A new Schnügel has been discovered.  The world is now a cuter place.  🙂

One thought on “A new Schnügel has been discovered!

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian pork sung sushi (素肉鬆壽司) | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

