Smoked Salmon Buttered Toast

Smoked Salmon Buttered Toast

Smoked Salmon Buttered Toast

I love to eat.  Unfortunately, I’m not exactly the world’s best cook.  In a way, I suppose that’s a good thing…  or else I would probably be a fat cow from eating all my cooking.  I try to dabble a bit here and there, but mostly my food obsession is limited to staring at recipes and photos online while shoveling whatever grub I can get my hands on into my mouth…

But when I am in the presence of someone making good eats, I do try to watch and learn…  so I can possibly recreate the masterpiece at home.  Usually I never bother to attempt my version, but today I was recalling a summer barbecue at my friend J-‘s place, where I had helped him prep some smoked salmon buttered toast.  As I recall, they were simple enough to put together, and the result was delish!  

Butter mixture with dill, lemon juice, salt, & pepper

Butter mixture with dill, lemon juice, salt, & pepper

So today I picked up some smoked salmon while grocery shopping, determined to make some smoked salmon buttered toast for dinner.  🙂

I did peruse the internet after I got home, just to check whether an actual recipe for such a dish really existed.  I found a couple of variations, and after reading up on them a bit, I was ready to make my version of this yummy appetizer.  😀

In between the actual preparation and reading up on the recipes, I did Skype briefly with my mother, with whom I declared my intentions to make this dish for my next blog post.  “But that’s really simple to make,” she exclaimed (in Chinese, of course).  <Groan from my side.>  Thanks a lot, mom.  Way to burst my bubble.  I know I’m not a fabulous chef, but couldn’t she at least give me some kudos for attempting to create something by myself to show off in my next blog post?  :O

I let the toast cool a bit before spreading the butter mixture on.

I let the toast cool a bit before spreading the butter mixture on.

Nonetheless, I forged on.  I pulled out the ingredients I had on hand–Oliver’s Toast XL Vitality from Migros, leftover butter from my Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies, dill, salt, pepper, and lemon juice.  I had stored the butter in the freezer, so it was rock hard.  But I managed to scrape off some shavings which defrosted quickly enough to spread on the toast.

I didn’t follow J-‘s version to a T…  which called for spreading cold butter on cold baguette slices, topping with smoked salmon, a squirt of lemon juice, drizzle with EVOO, and then freshly ground salt and pepper on top.  That version was delicious.  But perhaps my taste buds that day were also compounded by an alcohol-infused hunger surrounded by happy peeps at the barbecue.  😛

My version used J-‘s dish as inspiration, but then I made my own tweaks…  and I’m not sure if the result was as tasty.  😦  I think it was missing a little oopmh, but not sure due to what.  Perhaps I should have added EVOO?  Or more salt?  More lemon juice??  Nevertheless, I’m still glad I gave it a try, and I’m not ashamed to post it here to toast my own mini accomplishment.  😉

Smoked Salmon Buttered Toast

Ingredients:

  • Bread (I used Oliver’s Toast XL Vitality from Migros)
  • Butter
  • Dill
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Smoked salmon

Directions:

  1. Toast the bread and cut into triangles.
  2. Mix butter with dill, salt, pepper, and lemon juice.
  3. Spread the butter mixture on the toast.
  4. Top with smoked salmon.
  5. Sprinkle with a bit more dill, salt, and pepper.  And voilà!  Done.  🙂
Leave a Reply

