Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies

Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies

Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies

As I mentioned when I started blogging again, I just started jogging a week and a half ago to train for the Swiss City Marathon 5 Mile Run.  I think I’ve been overly enthusiastic about my ability to run 5 miles and have run 9 times out of the past 12 days.

On Saturday, I felt a twinge in my left thigh, which was probably a sign that I was overdoing it in my attempt to go from ground zero to Speedy Gonzalez.  I was quite disappointed when my friend A- told me I really need to take a break before I seriously injure myself, but it’s probably for the best.  😦  

I used a stick blender to cream the butter and powdered sugar

I used a stick blender to cream the butter and powdered sugar in lieu of having an electric mixer

So what’s a girl to do when she can’t exercise?  I dunno about you, but I turn to my two favorite loves–shopping and baking.  🙂  So today I hit up Jelmoli with E- at lunch and bought some makeup.  And then after work I went to Migros and bought the ingredients I needed to make Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies!  🙂

Normally, these type of cookies aren’t my cup of tea, but I wanted to take a break from all the chocolate binging I’ve gorged myself on lately and try something new.  Lemons are healthy, right?  And same with tea.  So what better combo than to make Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies?  😉  Courtesy of Joy the Baker, these cookies are light, buttery and fairly easy to make.  My mother’s going to kill me for baking again, but I couldn’t help myself…  cookies are just so yummy!

I used a melon baller to scoop out the cookies

I used a melon baller to scoop out the cookies

Perfect for munching on tonight as a late-night snack and for bringing into work for my friends and coworkers tomorrow.  I hope they enjoy them as much as I do.

Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies

Had to dip the fork into a heaping pile of flour to flatten the cookies without sticking

Had to dip the fork into a heaping pile of flour each time to flatten the cookies without sticking

Ingredients

  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour (143 g plain flour + 1 teaspoon baking powder)
  • ¾ cup cornstarch (95 g)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder (16 g)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt (1 g)
  • 8 Tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened (115 g)
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar (160 g powdered sugar)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (5 mL or 4.2 g)
  • ½ teaspoon lemon or orange extract (2 mL)
  • 1 teaspoons finely grated lemon or orange zest (5 mL or 2.5 g)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  (160 degrees C)
  2. Combine the flour, cornstarch, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.
  3. Combine the butter and confectioners’ sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Beat on low speed with the paddle until well mixed.  Increase the speed to medium and continue beating until light, about 2 minutes.  (I don’t have an electric mixer, so I just used a stick blender.)
  4. Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Batter may look broken and curdled.  Beat in the extracts and zest.
  5. Decrease the speed to low and beat in the flour.  Remove the bowl from the mixer and give the dough a few good turns with your spatula to bring it all together.
  6. Arrange rounded teaspoons of the dough on a pan lined with parchment paper.  Space the balls about 2-inches apart.  After all the cookies have been placed on the pan, flour a fork and press a crisscross design into the top of each mound of dough.  Bake the cookies until they spread and become golden, about 20 minutes.  Slide the parchment paper off the pan to cool completely.
  7. Makes 48 tiny cookies.
  8. Keep the cookies between sheets of wax paper in a plastic container with a tight lid.
Couldn't see the crisscross design in the finished cookies.  And baking them in two trays resulted in crispier cookies in the top rack and softer ones from the bottom rack.

Couldn’t see the crisscross design in the finished cookies, because they spread so much. And baking them in two trays resulted in crisper cookies from the top rack and softer ones from the bottom rack.

One thought on “Lemon Cloud Tea Cookies

  1. Pingback: Smoked Salmon Buttered Toast | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

