Crock Pot Asian BBQ Chicken Wings

It’s been really hot in Switzerland lately, which means BBQ weather!  As I don’t have a BBQ grill, I decided to do the next best thing–and dusted off zee ‘ol slow cooker to make some Asian-style BBQ chicken wings.  I love the concept of crock pot cooking.  Just plop in all the ingredients before work, set it and forget it, and then come home to a nice, hot meal.  😀  

The idea works well in theory, but I never actually did it that way before.  In the past, I had only attempted slow cooking on a weekend, and I would hang out in the kitchen, starting at the pot every few hours…  which totally defeated the purpose of the “set it and forget it” theory.

Easy peasy: 1) Dump the chicken in, 2) Smother with sauce, 3) Glaze in oven!

Anyway, on Wednesday I decided to do it the real way for the first time and found a lovely Asian-style BBQ chicken wing recipe that seemed easy enough.  The original recipe called for 6 hours of slow cooking on low, but who actually works for only 6 hours??  So I decided to use frozen chicken wings, which 1) are slightly cheaper than fresh ones, and 2) hopefully take a bit longer to cook, so I wouldn’t come home to mushy overcooked chicken in the pot after work.

I don’t know how authentic this recipe is, but I suppose the “Asian” part of it comes from the addition of some soy sauce and sesame seeds.  Of course I didn’t have any sesame seeds on hand, so I actually went to Lian Hua last Saturday to buy a bag of roasted sesame seeds.

Forgot the sesame, but still lovely with blueberry, watermelon and walnut salad and steamed rice

Unfortunately, I can’t quote the source of this recipe, as I found it long ago on the internet and just copied it down by hand, as I didn’t have a printer handy on me at the time.  But then again, I didn’t really follow the recipe to a T, and kind of modified it as I went along, so I guess I can call this my own recipe now.  😉

Being the idiot that I am, I completely forgot to use the sesame seeds in this dish, but I added them in when I reheated the leftovers in the microwave the next day and even sprinkled some fresh green onions on top, so that also added a nice touch.

So here we go–I-Lin’s recipe for pseudo-Asian style chicken wings:

Crock Pot Asian BBQ Chicken Wings

With sesame and green onions the next day, paired with fried rice and salad

With sesame and green onions the next day, paired with fried rice and salad

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 lbs chicken wings  (I used 1.3 kg frozen wings)
  • 1/2 bottle barbecue sauce
  • 3-4 Tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1-2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • Siracha sauce
  • Hoisin sauce
  • salt
  • pepper
  • sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Toss the chicken in the crock pot.  Top with garlic powder, salt, pepper.  Toss to coat.  (I guess you could also add some onion powder, too–but I didn’t have any on hand.)
  2. Add barbecue sauce and soy sauce.  I added a squirt of Siracha and hoisin sauce, too.  Stir until combined.
  3. Cook on low for 6 hours.  (I actually ended up cooking it for about 8 hours, and the chicken was still okay.  Very soft and falling off the bone though.)
  4. Remove from crock pot using tongs and put on baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.  Brush with remaining sauce and bake in the oven for about 10 minutes to thicken up the glaze on the chicken.  (I had the oven on about 350°F or 177°C.)
  5. Remove from the oven and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  (I totally forgot this step, oops.)
One thought on “Crock Pot Asian BBQ Chicken Wings

  1. Pingback: Blueberry, Watermelon and Walnut Salad | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

