I blog for myself and for… Huffington Post?!

Howdy, folks!  I’m baaack!  It’s been a while since my last post, since I was busy playing Hostess-with-the-Mostest and Tour Guide to Switzerland for my family the past two weeks.

I just sent my parents off to the airport this morning, ran some errands, did three loads of laundry, converted my temporary bed back into a futon, baked some brownies to bring to work tomorrow, and still need to clean my place (it’s amazing how much of a mess five people can make in a two-bedroom apartment within two weeks).

Now I have a lot of blogging catch-up to do, but the break was definitely worth it.  It was really great to see my family again after a whole year–especially since my brother’s visit also coincided with my birthday–but more on that later.

Right now I need to write about something exciting that happened yesterday…  I got contacted by HuffPost Live to join one of their live web segments!  HuffPost Live is an Internet-based video streaming network run by news website The Huffington Post.

This is what I saw when I checked my email yesterday (I edited out the last name of the person who contacted me):

Hi,

My name is Gwen B- and I work at HuffPost Live (http://live.huffingtonpost.com)–

Tomorrow (7/10) at  5:00pm /ET, I’m helping to coordinate a 30-minute segment hosted by Abby Huntsman about bridesmaids dresses. I saw your blog post about the dreaded bridesmaid dress and we would love to have you join via webcam to discuss both your experiences as a bridesmaid.

Here is our segment description:  Being a bridesmaid is an honor, but a big expense when it comes to dressing the part. Brides tell their friends the dress can be worn again, but that’s often not the case. David’s Bridal is here to show us styles that actually work more than once!

If interested I’d be more than happy to provide you with further details.

Many thanks,
Gwen

Pretty awesome, huh!  She must have seen my post about the green bridesmaid dress and wanted me to go on air to talk about it.  Me?  Moi?  Little ‘ol me?  My random ramblings have gotten enough attention that someone actually wanted me to go on air to talk about my experiences?  YES!!!  Super cool!!  😀

Unfortunately, I then noted the date and time stamp of the email.  It was from Tuesday, July 9th–the day I took my parents up to Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe to experience the glory of the Swiss Alps at highest railway station in Europe.  Plus, with the time zone difference, by the time I had read the email, 15 hours had passed, and it was the wee hours of the morning in the U.S.

Nevertheless, I still gave it a shot and wrote back, explaining my interest and asking for more details.  5:00 pm ET was 11:00 pm in Zurich, so I would still be up and could still do the segment.

Unfortunately, I never got a response, so I guess it was too late and they found other people already.  They didn’t give me a lot of turnaround time anyway, but at least I tried.

I actually stayed up late last night to watch the Here Comes the Bridesmaid segment to see what it was like.  There were 3 other women talking about re-wearing their bridesmaid dresses as Halloween costumes!  :O  That was completely different from my experience, where I re-wore my first bridesmaid dress as a ball gown to a ball in Vienna.

The second wedding that I’m participating in as a bridesmaid hasn’t happened yet (it’s scheduled for next month), but the dress that we finally settled on (just three days ago on July 8th!) was a purple satin wrap dress that I can probably re-wear to work at some point.

Overall, I thought the segment was okay, but a bit boring.  I’m kind of glad that I didn’t end up participating in the show, as I’m not sure how much more exciting my contribution would have been.  There were 4 little boxes at the bottom of the screen that showed the three ladies’ faces via their webcams, and the second one from the left was blacked out.  I couldn’t help but wonder if the little blank box was supposed to be for me.  😉

Oh well.  It was still exciting to be considered for the show even though I didn’t get to take part, and it keeps me incentivized to keep on blogging!  🙂

One thought on “I blog for myself and for… Huffington Post?!

Leave a Reply

