I quit the 30 Day Ab Challenge

It rained this morning, so it’s slightly getting cooler.  I don’t know how to dress for this weather.  It was only about 60 degrees, so I put on a pair of jeans and a long-sleeved T-shirt to go to H&M to look for a bridesmaid dress.  Turns out the green retro dress was very poorly made and not wearable, so we had to go with another option.  Still not confirmed as the final option yet, but I found a purple satin wrap dress online at H&M that might be passable as a bridesmaid dress, so I went to check it out.  

Purple satin H&M dress

Purple satin H&M dress

It wasn’t the best fit, but still wearable, so I bought it for CHF 49.90 and told the girls that they should all go get it, too.  This way, we have at least one option available and can return it within 30 days if we find anything better.

I love H&M.  Sometimes I can’t find anything good at all, but today they had a big sale, so I browsed around and picked up several pieces for work.  I ended up getting three skirts for work, the purple bridesmaid dress, a pair of black jeans, a thong for the day I can fit into the sexy dresses I bought at Zara, and two necklaces for CHF 154.60.  The skirts and jeans were all on sale, so I saved CHF 64.60 over the regular price.  And after applying my Keyclub points and UBS coupon, I ended up paying only CHF 104.60.  Awesome!

It’s a lot for H&M, but not a lot for Switzerland.  Just two days ago, I went shopping with my friend E- and bought four dresses at Zara for CHF 249.60…  which I thought was a good price after I saw the prices at Mango.  But as E- pointed out, we’re getting desensitized to the prices in Switzerland.  This kind of price would be outrageous in the U.K. or the U.S., where I can get tons of deals at T.J.Maxx, Ross Dress for Less, Target, or those little Korean stores in the mall.

Anyway, the sun came out as I was walking home, so I changed into black leggings and a summer dress to do another load of laundry and to write this blog entry.  And lo and behold, now the sun’s disappeared though the clouds again, but I’m too lazy to change my outfit again.  😛

So…  the real reason for this blog post (before I got sidetracked by my shopping), was to say, I QUIT THE 30 DAY AB CHALLENGE!  Wow, it feels so awesome to say that.  I don’t feel like a quitter at all.  I feel like an amazing success for getting rid of something I hated.  

This challenge was really tough.  I hate doing sit-ups, and each one was a constant struggle.  I didn’t even make it to Day 15, which was today.  I started off with 20 sit-ups, and then got sidetracked trying to make a pretty picture using the new GirlsCamera app with one of my “after” shots from the keratin hair treatment yesterday.

Then I did a few more sit-ups, took some long breaks in between while I dozed off on the floor on my exercise mat, and finally made it to about 60 sit-ups when I decided, no more, I’ve had enough of this!  And then a feeling of elation and peace came over me–along with itchiness from my greasy head.  (Ugh, I don’t know how I’m going to last two more days with this hair.)

Anyway, my sole purpose of exercising was to whittle my waist down to look sexy for my friend’s wedding.  Well, so far nothing’s worked.  Past experience has shown that I just tend to build muscle and bulk up if I exercise.  I’ve completely stopped doing weights in hopes of getting a more feminine figure, but my girlfriends are still pointing out my muscular stature.  😦

My weight has slightly gone down, but my waist measurements haven’t moved in months.  This is counter-intuitive to building muscle.  I thought muscle weighs more than fat, so I should be gaining weight, not losing weight.  *Oh, my second load of laundry is done.  Time to go take out the recycling and go grocery shopping.*

*Some time later*

Exhausted from carrying heavy groceries on foot.  I decided to buy a whole watermelon, which was bad enough by itself, but then I bought a whole bunch of other stuff, too.  I only go grocery shopping about once a week now, so I tend to load up on Saturdays.  Who needs to go to the gym when you’re grocery shopping on foot?  😛  

Anyway, I had tracked my weight and waist measurements daily during the 30 Day Ab Challenge, so I guess I could share the 15 days of (non)results.

Waist

Weight

If you look at the linear trend lines, you’ll see a slight decrease in weight over the two weeks, but it’s only a couple of pounds, which doesn’t mean anything.  There are several spikes and dips in the middle, so I think the fluctuation was just due to water weight or food intake.  And the waist measurements didn’t really change at all.

So my conclusion from all of this is that exercise alone isn’t enough for transforming one’s body.  Of course, I had already suspected that, but I still wanted to try to see if I could make a difference.  In a normal-sized person like myself, I don’t think I can make any significant impact with moderate exercise.

The thing to do if I want visible results is probably to change my diet.  I love eating too much though, and now I’ve taken up drinking small amounts of alcohol while going out, so that probably doesn’t help my waistline, either.  I keep hearing that cutting back on carbs, sugar, and fat is the way to go…  but somehow I still haven’t managed to do that yet.

But honestly, I’m kind of sick and tired of it all, and I’m not sure I want to pay the price for vanity.  Trying to achieve a Victoria’s Secret model body is delusional and ineffective.  I’m not going to starve myself to fit into one segment of the population’s definition of sexy.  Then again, I’m nowhere near starving and could probably stand to eat a couple of calories less.  😉

Anyway, I’m just going to try to live life the best I can and enjoy what I can of it.  As Wolfgang Puck always said, “Live, Love, Eat!”  🙂

3 thoughts on “I quit the 30 Day Ab Challenge

    • Thanks for the comment! This is the 30 Day Ab Challenge: http://30dayfitnesschallenges.com/classes/30-day-abs-challenge/. I decided to do it after successfully completing the 30 Day Squat Challenge, but I wasn’t motivated to finish the ab workout.

      I used to lift heavy weights, but I didn’t like the tone and definition that resulted, so I stopped. At this point, I’m okay with my current physique, so I don’t really care about building muscle and burning fat. But thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

