30 Day Squat Challenge – Mission Complete!

Yesterday was the last day of my 30 Day Squat Challenge!  Hip, hip, hooray!  🙂

I’m very proud of this mini achievement.  Hopefully it’s the first of many small accomplishments to come.  I’ve always been one of those people who makes grand plans and then gives up after one or two days out of lack of motivation and/or sheer laziness, so this is an achievement for me.  

I did all 3,295 squats (give or take a few, because I might have lost count in between), working my way up from 50 to 250 squats, including 7 days of rest, all within 30 consecutive days.  My legs and buns were burning, and I had to break them up into sets of 20 with lots of breaks, but I did it.  Yippee!  I’m done!  Mission complete!  No more squats for life.  Haha…

So…  you make ask:   After all this, what’s the verdict??

Well, using the totally unscientific method of reaching around behind me and squeezing both cheeks, I have concluded that…  it feels a teeny bit firmer?  Not like buns of steel, but more like those Chinese steamed buns, or baozi.  Muahaha…  I just compared my butt to some bread.  LOL.

Anyway, back to the buns (no pun intended), I think mine felt a bit more watery before the challenge, and now they’re still soft, but with a bit more oomph, you know what I mean?  Ok, enough TMI for now.  ;-P

Being the nerd that I am, I had also weighed and measured myself weekly to track my progress more scientifically.  Please keep in mind that I only weighed myself once a week, in the morning, before breakfast.  So the results make me look super light, but after putting on some clothes and consuming some food, I naturally gained a couple of pounds.

The first graph shows my weight progression (err…  rather, regression) over the month, extrapolated with a linear trend line.  You can see that I kind of lost about two pounds.

Weight

However, if you now turn your eyes to the second graph, then you notice that my waist measurements pretty much remained flat.  I think a lot of this also had to do with how much I had eaten the night before, and how many hours had elapsed between my last meal and the time of my measurements.

Waist

So honestly, I’m not sure if doing squats made any real impact to my figure.  Two pounds could easily be attributed to water weight.

During the month of the squat challenge, I didn’t significantly alter my lifestyle or diet (i.e. I pretty much ate and drank whatever I wanted and of course, didn’t get enough sleep, as usual).  However, I do feel a bit slimmer.  My clothes seem to fit a bit better, and I’ve gone down a notch or two on my belt.

When I look at myself in the mirror, sometimes I feel like I am a bit more slender, but other times I feel as though my legs got kind of thick.  I don’t have the coveted thigh gap that’s all the rage nowadays.  Pure psychological nonsense?  Probably.

But, whatever.  The challenge is over.  Was it worth doing?  Yeah, why not.  I got a blog entry out of it.  😉

Time to move on to the next thing…  whatever that is.  Maybe I should work on getting a thigh gap…  which, according to wikiHow, says NO MORE SQUATS!

3 thoughts on “30 Day Squat Challenge – Mission Complete!

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Ab Challenge | Step by Step

Leave a Reply

