New comparison: HTC One vs. Samsung Galaxy S4

After getting all excited for my cellphone contract renewal last Tuesday, I decided to set my sights on the Samsung Galaxy S4.  So I started digging into the details and discovered that the contract renewal with Orange would not be CHF 1.- as I had originally expected.  The reality of the matter was that getting a new phone would cost from CHF 1.-  

The only way to get a new phone for only CHF 1.- would be if I signed up for a highest plan offering with all the bells and whistles–unlimited minutes, unlimited SMS, and 5 GB for surfing the web.  I don’t want to pay 3x the price for a bunch of stuff that I’m not going to use.  😦

So if I go with the package that suits me, then that means a new Samsung Galaxy S4 with a 24-month contract would cost…  CHF 389!  That’s over $400!  Is it worth it to pay that much for a cellphone??  :O

I’m used to carriers in the U.S. that basically give you the phone for free if you sign up for a one or two-year plan.  Even at the “reduced” price in Switzerland, I find 400 bucks quite hefty to pay for something that will be outdated in a year or two.

So what now?  I talked with my brother today, and he recommended the HTC One as a comparable alternative to the S4.  I took a look at some online comparisons, and it does look like a viable option.  The phones seem similar, but the HTC One seems to edge out a bit on top.

From what I can gather, the pros for a HTC One are:

  • Nicer look and feel due to the aluminum casing (vs. the plastic S4 casing that feels cheap)
  • Better photos in dim light (may come in handy for taking my Yelp photos indoors
  • CHF 100.- cheaper than the S4

Cons:

  • Worse photos in bright daylight
  • Fewer megapixels per photo (but then again, I usually shrink my pictures for posting online anyway)
  • Battery is not removable
  • No removable memory

Not having seen either phone live yet, I think I need to go to a store in-person next weekend to see if I can hold both phones and compare how they feel in my hand.  But I think based on my online research thus far, I’m starting to lean more towards the HTC One now if I do choose to upgrade my phone.

I read something about how Samsung is trying to place themselves like Apple now by pricing their products higher, but I’m not sure if the extra cost is really worth it.  The S4 also has a bunch of new bells and whistles that are supposedly not very useful to the average user, too.

I guess I can also just keep my current phone and not change to a new one.  That will save the most money but might cause more frustration in the long run, so I think I might as well shell out for a new phone now.  It will be fun to have a new toy to play with, and of course it would be good to support a company from my motherland while I’m at it.  😀

 

Leave a Reply

