Photo shoot for Swiss CV

I recently learned that a Swiss CV is different from an American résumé in that the Swiss one has personal information such as a photo, age, marital status, etc.  I haven’t really updated my résumé to contain such personal details, but then I saw a Groupon offer for a professional photo shoot that could be useful for this.

The offer from Fotomedia Morgenegg consisted of one outfit change and 12 photos on a data CD for SFr. 30.- instead of 114.  Seemed like a pretty good deal, so I went for it, even though their studio is in Dübendorf instead of Zürich.  It took me about 40 minutes by train to reach my destination, which was actually shorter than my daily commute to work.  I didn’t know what to do for the one outfit change, as I was just going for standard head shots, so I just switched from a white shirt to a blue shirt.

Here are some of my results:

_DSC5749bw  _DSC5759a  _DSC5763a  _DSC5764bw

Which one of these photos look like they would increase my chances of getting a new job here one day?  Does it even make a difference?  Dunno.

But was it still worth it to take some professional photos?  I suppose so.  Not sure if I’ll actually put a picture on my résumé yet, because I’ll have to revamp the structure and layout if I really do go for the Swiss style.  But I can at least use it to update my Linkedin profile in the interim…

Leave a Reply

