30 Day Squat Challenge

I used to have a naturally perky butt.  As a kid, I hated it when the protruding bubble extended behind my red leotard during gymnastics class.  I used to try to tuck in my tailbone in a futile attempt to decrease the offending hump.

As a teenager in the early ’90s, I was never able to wear a tube skirt because there was always too much of a gap between my gluteus maximus and upper thigh.  Now before you start conjuring up crazy images of who-knows-what, I need to specify that I was really skinny as a kid.  The rest of me was a flat stick with chopstick legs.  And I wasn’t athletic at all.  It’s a mystery where the random lump came from.

I longed to wear a trendy tube skirt and would periodically try on a hand-me-down in front of the mirror.  It looked all right from the front…  but when I turned sideways…  there was always the distinctive silhouette of a “P”.  What would I give for my tushy to transition smoothly into my leg so I could wear the skirt with pride.  Alas, I finally resigned to accepting that the day would never come, donated the skirt to Goodwill, and didn’t look back again.

Flash forward 15 years.  I was dating a guy who suddenly said to me one day, “You have a flat butt.”  Say what??  I ran to the mirror and looked behind me.  OMG, he was right!!  Gravity and age had taken its toll.  What was once a round bubble had now turned to…  nothing.  It was FLAT.  “Yeah, it happens with age,” he said.  Argh…  yeah, maybe to OTHER people, but not to ME, the girl-with-the-bump-that-wouldn’t-go-away.  But it was gone.

What’s a girl to do?  Squats, I suppose.  But I was too busy with a full-time job and trying to finish my M.B.A. and still date all at the same time, so I couldn’t be bothered to do any.  Besides, that guy was soon out of my life after a couple of months, and my next boyfriend didn’t seem to mind.  So I just left things the way they were and didn’t give it another thought.

A few days ago, I noticed this in my Facebook feed:  30 DAY SQUAT CHALLENGE.  Interesting…  Maybe I could give it a try.

30 Day Squat Challenge

Day 1:  50 squats.  Yikes!!  :O  I’ve never done that many squats in my entire life.  Is this even worth it?

I did a quick web search and came up with this article:  Do Squats Make Your Butt Bigger?  Haha…

Depending on your body composition, squats can either make your butt bigger or smaller. If you do not have excess body fat stored in the butt, hip and upper thigh area, squats will make your butt appear more round and shapely. On the other hand, if you do have excess body fat stored in the butt, hip and upper thigh area that is covering up the muscle, squats could aid in making your butt smaller in size.

Hmm…  I guess the gist of this is that squats are beneficial.  Ok, then bring it on!

I started Day 1 this morning while brushing my teeth.  It worked out perfectly with the 2-minute timer on my electric toothbrush.  I have no idea how I’m going to do the rest of the squats, but let’s see if I can work my way up to the finale of 250 squats on Day 30.  Stay tuned for the results on May 16…

7 thoughts on “30 Day Squat Challenge

  1. Pingback: Stellar Joins The 30 Day Squat Challenge | Naturally Stellar

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Squat Challenge – Midpoint Status | Step by Step

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Squat Challenge – Mission Complete! | Step by Step

  4. Pingback: Stellar Joins The 30 Day Squat Challenge ⋆ Naturally Stellar

Leave a Reply

